Spenser Goes ‘Looking For Rachel Wallace’

Looking For Rachel Wallace

BOOK DETAIL/INFORMATION: This is the sixth Spenser novel written by Robert B. Parker.  It was originally published in 1980.  The book’s title character Rachel Wallace would go on to be a recurring character in the Spenser universe. Preceded By: The Judas Goat Followed By: Early Autumn PLOT SUMMARY: Rachel Wallace is a lesbian feminist author who hires Spenser for a security detail.  She’s completely biased against him and his macho ways and eventually fires him.  … Continue reading

A Man Called Hawk Appears – ‘Promised Land’

Promised Land (1976)

BOOK DETAILS/INFORMATION: Promised Land is the fourth Spenser novel written by Robert B. Parker.  It was originally published in 1977.  Of particular note here is the first appearance of Hawk. Preceded By: Mortal Stakes Followed By: The Judas Goat NOTE: This review will contain spoilers. PLOT SUMMARY: Real estate magnate Harvey Shepard hires Spenser to find his wife Pam who’s gone missing.  He quickly locates her and determines that for a variety of reasons she does not … Continue reading

‘The Judas Goat’ – Spenser Gets Out Of Town

The Judas Goat (1979)

BOOK DETAILS/INFORMATION: The Judas Goat is the fifth Spenser novel written by Robert B. Parker.  It was originally published in 1978. Preceded By: Promised Land Followed By: Looking For Rachel Wallace PLOT SUMMARY: A recluse millionaire in a wheelchair (think Mason Verger from Hannibal without the facial deformity), Hugh Dixon, hires Spenser to find the members of a terrorist group (Liberty) that killed his family.  Spenser does what he does and stirs the pot to … Continue reading